Maple Leafs Will Not Name A Captain


The Toronto Maple Leafs announced that they will not name a new team captain again, after not opting to do so last season.

Leafs head coach Mike Babcock confirmed the decision on Thursday.

“With the number of leaders we have in that room, we don’t feel it’s necessary,” added general manager Lou Lamoriello, according to Dave McCarthy of

“It’s as simple as that.”

Toronto opted to assign an “A” to four players last season which included Tyler Bozak, Leo Komarov, Matt Hunwick and Morgan Rielly.

The Maple Leafs have not had a captain since Dion Phaneuf in 2016, who was traded away.